City of Dubuque Special Election

Election Date - March 2, 2021

A Special Election to Fill a Vacancy for Ward 1. Only those residents in Ward 1 can vote and file papers.

  • Candidate papers must be filed by 5:00 pm on January 8th in the Auditor's office, 4th floor of the Courthouse, 720 Central Ave. 
  • The Affidavit of Candidacy and Nomination Petition can be found on the Secretary's of State's Website . Candidates need 42 signatures from residents of Ward 1.

View Sample Ballot

  • All voters wishing to vote by mail will need to request an absentee ballot be mailed to them. You can find more information on the Absentee Voting link. 
  • In-person voting will be done at the Auditor's Office, 4th Floor of the Courthouse, 720 Central Ave. 
  • The Election Annex will NOT be open for this election. 

Timeline

  • Friday, January 8, 2021—Candidate Filing Deadline—County Auditor’s office, open until 5:00 pm.
  • Monday, January11, 2021—Objection Deadline, 12:00 pm Noon. 
  • Monday, January 11, 2021—Withdrawal Deadline, Auditor open until 5:00 pm. 
  • Monday, January 18, 2021- Worry-Free postmark Deadline (This is a Holiday)
  • Friday, January 22, 2021—Primary Voter Registration Deadline 5:00 pm.
  • Friday, January 22, 2021—Primary Deadline to request Absentee Ballot by mail 5:00 pm.
  • Friday, January 29, 2021—Primary Last day to review absentee ballots and written challenge deadline 5:00 pm.
  • Monday, February 1, 2021—Primary In-person absentee deadline & mailed absentee postmark deadline, open until 5:00 pm.
  • Tuesday, February 2, 2021—Primary Election Day, polls open from 7:00 am to 8:00 pm.
  • Thursday, February 4, 2021—Canvass of votes at 1:00 pm.
  • Friday, February 5, 2021—Recount request deadline 5:00 pm.
  • Friday, February 19, 2021—Regular Election Voter Registration Deadline & Absentee Ballot Deadline 5:00 pm.
  • Friday, February 26, 2021—Last day to review absentee ballots and written challenge deadline 5:00 pm.
  • Monday, March 1, 2021—In-person absentee deadline & mailed absentee postmark deadline, Open until 5:00 pm.
  • Tuesday, March 2, 2021—Election Day, City of Dubuque Ward 1 residents only, polls open from 7:00 am to 8:00 pm.
  • Monday, March 8, 2021—canvass of votes after noon.
  • Thursday, March 11, 2021—Recount Deadline 5:00 pm.